Some lessons learned from the (academic) year that was

November 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

I handed in the last of the final essays on Monday, the big thesis two Mondays before that. Now the course work is finally over. All we’re waiting for is grades and graduation, and we’re free. Okay, we’re free now. But before I’m incapable of any intelligent thought from the copious amounts of sheer stupidity I plan to drink in from different media, here are some things I’ve learned…….

But first…! A photo of my first-born.

On to the lessons…..

1. It’s not always as painful as you think. Sure, for most people, just the thought of statistics and data analysis is enough to send shivers down one’s spine. And sure, at times, it was as boring and confusing as it sounds. It made my eyes glaze over and my head pound, all at the same time. But here I am, after a 10,000 word thesis, still with a smile on my face and a song in my heart, with a working knowledge of SPSS that may or may not come in handy on this job hunt I’m currently on.

2. People are happy to help. The universe is good and kind. It might be the collegiate environment I’ve been steeping in, but most everyone has been more than willing to help me – whether it’s shedding light on data analysis techniques (that most everyone has a contradictory opinion about) or just telling you that you’re going to be okay!!!

3. You will change your mind. And that’s okay. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from this year, it’s that your elders (or J. Biebs, whatevs) were right when they told you to ‘Never say never.’ I’m into the habit of saying never – “I’ll never study again,” “I’ll never learn to like this sh*t,” or “I will never subject myself to this ever again.” And while I’m more than happy to eat my words,  I realize now that they were right. You WILL change your mind/heart/feelings about things. And hey, being young and free to change your mind is okay. In fact, consider yourself lucky if you fall into one of these two things!

4. Sitting in a crappy chair for more than 2 hours a time WILL hurt. Maybe the lesson is to invest in a semi-decent chair in future. Note to self.

5. Tomorrows become todays. As inevitably as the world keeps turning. It was almost a year ago I was having marathon coffee sessions with various best friends trying to discern whether going back to school was what was really the best move for me. After countless days and nights of fretting and agonizing, IT IS DONE. And I am happier, smarter, and just….MORE for it.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some lessons learned from the (academic) year that was at The Pointless Why.

meta

