Seoul series Part III: The last of Seoul

July 28, 2012 § Leave a comment

My first time in a stadium – not kidding!

Now, on to Insadong, a traditional Korean street. What I loved most about this part of Seoul were the colours. It felt like everything was pulsing with it, yet, at the same time, there was a calmness to it that I couldn’t explain.

Yep, that’s a Starbucks.

I must admit, I thought about naming my blog exactly this. But half an honours course later, what does that make me?:P

Yet another highlight of our trip – meeting old pen pals and making new friends! Helen and I were pen pals back when we were much younger. Almost a decade later, we finally got to meet face to face! I’ll be most definitely waiting for her in Melbourne to return the favour.

She was kind enough to tour us around the shopping places and introduce me to my new favourite store – Uniqlo! I think my mum and aunt got more excited than me though. They named this next bit number 2 on their happiest places on earth list….

The next photo is of Dongdaemun. This place, we’ve agreed, definitely makes our top 10 happiest places on earth, placing higher than Disneyland, yes! All because of the fact that it’s the largest shopping centre in South Korea! The shopping was absolutely insane! It wasn’t dirt-cheap, but there’s a quality to the merchandise that assures you that things are going to last for more than a few wash cycles. (It’s not like that hasn’t stopped me before, but hey!)

Oh, and here’s what we loved most about this place – shops are open till the wee hours of the morning!!! Try doing THAT in Melbourne.;)

From an absolutely tiring but very fulfilling day of shopping, on the train home to Gangnam. This is my brother’s happiest face. He didn’t get to buy anything. Not one thing.

The LG Gangnam tower.

And that, ladies and gents, concludes our whirlwind tour of Seoul. Up next are photos from our encounters in rural South Korea.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Seoul series Part III: The last of Seoul at The Pointless Why.

meta

